The District Five Board of Trustees met Monday, February 25, 2013, at the District Five Administrative Offices, 100 N. Danzler Road, Duncan, SC at 6:30 p.m.

The following members were present:

Mr. Steve Brockman

Mr. Gerald Cook

Mr. Bo Corne

Mr. Rick Eitel

Mr. Garry Harper

Mr. Patrick Jarrett

Mrs. Julie McMakin

Mr. James Norman

Mr. Michael Thompson

1. Call to Order and Notice to Media: Mr. Steve Brockman, Chairman, called the meeting to order and read the Notice to Media:

Spartanburg County School District Five has complied with the requirements of the Freedom of Information Act in notification of the media and other interested parties and organizations and posting of the agenda.

- 2. Open Meeting with Prayer: Mrs. Julie McMakin led the opening prayer.
- **3. Approval of Minutes January 28, 2013:** Minutes from the January 28, 2013 meetings were approved as presented.

4. Action Agenda

- a. Policy Committee Recommendations: Revise/Approve Policies IHCF IMG
 - IHCF Childcare Programs
 - IJK Supplementary Materials Selection and Adoption
 - IJKA Technology Resource Selection and Adoption
 - IJL Library/Media Center Materials Selection and Adoption
 - IJNDAA Distance, Online and Virtual Education
 - IJNDB Use of Technology Resources in Instruction
 - IJOA, R, E Field Trips
 - IJOB/IJOC, -R, -E Resource Persons/School Volunteers
 - IKA, -R Grading/Assessment Systems
 - IKAA Tests and Examinations
 - IKAB Report Cards/Progress Reports
 - IKACA Parent Conferences
 - IKB Homework

- IKD Honor Rolls
- IKE, -R Promotion and Retention of Students
- IKF, -R Graduation Requirements
- IL Evaluation of Instructional Programs
- ILB, -R Test/Assessment Administration
- ILBB, -R State Program Assessments
- IMB Teaching About Controversial/Sensitive Issues
- IMD School Ceremonies and Observations
- IMDB Flag Displays
- IMDC Religious Observances and Displays
- IMG Service Animals

Mr. Eitel reported that the policy committee met and reviewed the changes to policies IHCF - IMG, pertaining to instruction, as provided by the South Carolina School Boards Association. Mr. Eitel reviewed the changes and updates to each policy.

Mr. Eitel made a motion to approve the amendments to policies IHCF - IMG as presented by the policy committee. The motion did not require a second as it was presented by the policy committee chairman.

The motion was approved unanimously (9-0) to accept the revisions to policies IHCF - IMG as presented.

5. Reports

a. Facilities Study Update: Dr. Wood introduced the architects with McMillan, Pazdan, Smith Architecture Firm to provide information pertaining to phase II of the district's facilities study. Mr. Brian Deichman and Ms. Donza Mattison provided the report to the board. Cost estimates for renovations at Byrnes High School were provided and broken down by project for priority purposes. After review of all campus facilities and updated capacities, the architects provided the results of their study and made recommendations for future maintenance and repairs. The cost to construct a secure lobby entrance at Wellford Academy was also presented. Finally, Ron Smith informed the board that Ms. Mattison will revisit the campus design at Byrnes High School, at no additional cost to the district, and will present her findings at a future board meeting.

6. Executive Session

a. **Personnel:** A motion was made, seconded and passed unanimously (9-0) to go into executive session for the purpose of personnel recommendations.

In open session, a motion was made, seconded and passed unanimously (9-0) to approve the appointment of Tony Gillespie as the Byrnes Athletic Director, as recommended by administration.

A motion was made, seconded and passed unanimously (9-0) to accept the district's administrator contract recommendations for the 2013-14 school year as presented.

A motion was made, seconded and passed unanimously (9-0) to accept the certified personnel recommendations as presented.

A motion was made, seconded and passed unanimously (9-0) to accept the personnel recommendations as presented.

Furthermore, in compliance with Board Policy BHA – Board Member Conflict of Interest, four teacher's contracts were voted on individually. These teachers have family members who serve on the board. The votes are recorded as follows:

Laura Brockman, Reidville Elementary School: (8-0-1): Steve Brockman abstained from voting.

Britain Jarrett, Lyman Elementary School: (8-0-1): Patrick Jarrett abstained from voting.

Jennifer Eitel, River Ridge Elementary School: (8-0-1): Rick Eitel abstained from voting.

Natalie Oliver, Abner Creek Academy: (8-0-1): Michael Thompson abstained from voting.

Furthermore, a motion was made, seconded and passed unanimously (9-0) to increase the superintendent's travel allowance from \$6,000 to \$13,500 per year.

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 8:30 PM.

Respectfully submitted,

Michael Thompson Secretary