The District Five Board of Trustees met Thursday, January 4, 2018, at the District Five Administrative Office, 100 N. Danzler Road, Duncan, SC at 8:00 a.m.

The following members were present:

Mr. Steve Brockman

Mr. Mark Cleveland

Mrs. Dawn Deck

Mr. Rick Eitel

Mrs. Meredith Gergley

Mr. Phil McIntyre

Mrs. Julie McMakin

Mr. Michael Thompson

Facilities Planning Work Session: Following the action items, board members held a
facilities planning work session to discuss possible future building and planning priorities for
the district.

2. Action

a) **Board Officer Elections:** Chairman Eitel informed the board that officers needed to be elected for the positions of Chairman, Vice Chairman, and Secretary.

Mr. Rick Eitel was nominated for the office of Chairman. There being no other nominations, the motion was seconded and passed unanimously (7-0-1) to name Mr. Rick Eitel as the Chairman of the Board of Trustees. Mr. Eitel abstained from the vote. Mr. Eitel has been serving as chairman following the resignation of Mr. Garry Harper, for the remainder of Mr. Harper's term. Therefore, Mr. Eitel will now begin serving his first term as chairman.

Mrs. Julie McMakin was nominated for the office of Vice Chairman. There being no other nominations, the motion was seconded and passed unanimously (7-0-1) to name Mrs. Julie McMakin as the Vice Chairman of the Board of Trustees. Mr. McMakin abstained from the vote. Mrs. McMakin was also completing the past term due to Mr. Harper's resignation and will now begin serving her first term as vice chairman.

Mr. Phil McIntyre was nominated for the office of Secretary. There being no other nominations, the motion was seconded and passed (7-0-1) to name Mr. Phil McIntyre as the Secretary of the Board of Trustees. Mr. McIntyre abstained from the vote. He was also completing the past term due to Mr. Harper's resignation and will begin serving his first term as secretary.

b) **Board Committee Appointments:** Chairman Eitel appointed the following board members to serve on the three Board Committees:

- Finance Committee: Julie McMakin (chair), Michael Thompson, Steve Brockman
- Curriculum and Instruction: Meredith Gergley (chair), Phil McIntyre, Jeff Proper
- Policy Committee: Michael Thompson (chair), Mark Cleveland, Dawn Deck

A motion was made, seconded, and passed unanimously (8-0) to approve the appointments of these board members to the Finance, Curriculum and Instruction, and Policy Committees.

c) R.D. Anderson Board Appointment: Mr. Eitel informed the board that he would no longer be able to serve on the board for R.D. Anderson due to time constraints. After questions and discussion, Mr. Mark Cleveland offered to serve in his place. Mrs. Julie McMakin agreed to continue serving on the board.

A motion was made, seconded, and passed unanimously (8-0) to approve Mrs. Julie McMakin and Mr. Mark Cleveland to serve on the board of the R.D. Anderson Applied Technology Center.

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 11:15 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Phil McIntyre Secretary